top of page

Passage (2018)

for orchestra

Listen to excerpt:  

Passage Movm't I excerpt -
Passage Movm't II excerpt -
Passage Movm't III excerpt -

Instrumentation: 3333 / 4331 / timp., 3 perc. / harp / pno / strings


I. Expansive; With great energy

II. Reverberant, mysterious

III. Driving

Duration: 17 minutes


World Premiere:  Commissioned and premiered by by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Louis Langrée, music director, on October 14 & 15, 2018 at Cincinnati, Ohio.


Program Notes:

In my work Passage, the title refers to the transformation of musical passages from Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, which informed this work, into a modern musical language, and to the passage of time between 1806, the year of Beethoven’s composition, and 2018.  The piece is in three contrasting movements, with each movement responding to a different aspect of Beethoven’s score.  The first movement contains material from both the first and third movements of the Beethoven, the second refers to the slow movement, and the third to the Finale.  Ultimately, the piece stands on its own terms, filtered through my own musical language, to form something of our own time.


This work was commissioned by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Louis Langrée, music director, with the generous support of Ann and Harry Santen.

© 2018 Pierre Jalbert, Passage

Photo:  Julia Jalbert

bottom of page