top of page

Klang (2011)

Instrumentation: 2 pianos and 1 percussion


Duration: 13 minutes


World Premiere:  Klang was written specifically for the piano duo Quattro Mani along with percussionist David Colson.


Program Notes:

The title refers to the word “klang” in German, which simply means tone or sound. Throughout the work, the two pianos trade off playing bell tones, which reverberate to form more complex harmonies. These are also colored with various percussion timbres. Though in one continuous movement, the piece contains three sections, with the outer sections containing more pulse-oriented, motoric rhythms and the middle section providing a lyrical contrast.


-- Pierre Jalbert

© 2016 Pierre Jalbert, Klang

Photo:  Julia Jalbert

bottom of page