top of page

Music of air and fire (2007)

for orchestra

Listen to excerpt:  

Music of air and fire - excerpt

Instrumentation: 3233 / 4331 / timp., 3 perc. / pno-cel / strings


Duration: 6 minutes


World Premiere:  Commissioned and premiered by the California Symphony, Barry Jekowsky, conductor, on May 6 and 8, 2007.


Program Notes:

As the title may suggest, this work exhibits contrasting ideas: one of quiet lyricism (air), and one of faster, more aggressive music (fire). The “air” music comes first and features the percussionists bowing their instruments in order to create a wafting, ethereal sound. This gradually turns into the “fire” music and features the percussionists playing various sets of drums in a more pulse-oriented, rhythmic manner. This work was written for the 20th anniversary of the California Symphony under Barry Jekowsky, and has also been performed by the Boston Symphony and Houston Symphony.


-- Pierre Jalbert

© 2016 Pierre Jalbert, Music of air and fire

Photo:  Julia Jalbert

bottom of page